Blogger hoping4astory has made a good response to the 50 questions post, and I wanted to be sure it was read, so I’m posting it rather than leaving as a reply.

Sometimes I get tired of all this “happy talk.” Life isn’t about being happy 24/7. It’s about other things like reaching goals, overcoming obstacles, etc. Sometimes all the Happy stuff on facebook makes me want to gag. Seriously.

my response: 

Good point, and to some extent I agree. I can’t take the sentimental hearts-and-angels stuff that has sprouted all over the place. I like the unsentimental stuff that I see much more, stuff that makes me challenge my prejudices and think about what’s what. Not to mention that ‘happiness’ is not my goal. Happiness can mask all sorts of stuff and (to my mind) is a transient emotion that doesn’t always go very deep. What I’m after is joy. Semantics? Maybe, but to me joy is deep and not easily lost, once discovered. Joy isn’t the result of an event or winning or having a good time.
Joy is something more like the spirit of life and the sheer energy that washes through the world Joy doesn’t mean you’re always happy – it can be masked by sadness or frustration or anger at times, but it’s there underneath.
It’s the opposite of fear, which underlies most negative emotions, most of the time, for most people. Sounds like I’ve got the answers, doesn’t it? I wish. But I think I know what I’m after, and I think it’s joy.

Does that make sense to you?

2 comments on “

  1. Thank Arabella. Read my latest post about all the people that passed away. Maybe I’m just in a depressing mood today. I ‘m the one who needs happy talk too!

    • Arabella says:

      I know how you feel – there are times when being urged to ‘be hap-hap-happy!!’ doesn’t cut it. In my mind being basically at peace and essentially deep-down happy doesn’t stop one feeling like a bag of sh*t some days, and being battered by events from time to time, and snapping heads of anyone stupid enough to smile at one at the wrong moment… The difference between my bleak days now, and the long depressions of earlier in my life is that now I know that the bad feelings can and will change. I’m sure you know what I’m talking about! Hope you’re feeling good today, and that you’re having a lively Monday.

Leave a Reply

