Agonising stories

I don’t know what to say about this article by Marilyn Murray in yesterday’s Moscow Times, but I don’t think I need to comment.

I’d like to hear your thoughts, though…

One comment on “Agonising stories

  1. misscorrigan says:

    I had to reply, because my sister and I were just talking about abandonment today. My dad left my mom when I was 7, my sisters, 4 and 1. Even when we faced it and subsequently ‘got over it’, we never really did and we always talk about how it pops up in our life. My husband during one nasty fight we had, had to repeatedly say I will never leave you, and it was then I got something through my head. Not everybody fears being abandoned like I do, not everybody thinks they can just pick up and leave someone in the dust when times get rocky. I understand how the parents are not to blame in the article you posted, and after many years I almost don’t blame my parents, but the pain is so deep and far away that sometimes its closer than anything else. Regardless if anyone is to blame, abandonment spurs such a crazy whirlwind of emotions, and I’m not quite sure why it lived so long inside of me as such an irrational fear, I mean in the end, so what, you’re alone, right? Nothing no one can do can take you away, so what’s the big deal anyway?

Leave a Reply

