Does it, though?

What doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger.’

Does it, though? Not always. Not often. It’s one of the most idiotic bits of smug pseudo-philosophy of the modern age. What do you think? Has a difficult event ever knocked you sideways or turned you inside out? Has illness done permanent damage? Has your confidence been shattered or your psyche shredded? None of them lethal occurrences, obviously, but are you the stronger for them? Or did they have an effect on you that you haven’t yet recovered from?

Once you have suffered damage, it can become a weak spot – physical, mental, emotional or spiritual. After I slipped a disc in my lower back it became a chronic problem; my back’s better, but that’s because I don’t give it an excuse any more. It’s now a weak spot and I have to get help to shove and lift and carry. Let’s not get started on the emotional weak spots now…

What about you – agree or disagree?

8 comments on “Does it, though?

  1. obesity says:

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? The reason is that this content related with obesity could be really useful for my group, there’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    • Hi there – so sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. WordPress put your reply into limbo, and I’ve only just found it. Yes, of course – do please share with your myspace group. Obesity is something I’d really, really like to explore in this context – since it’s my problem too… If the content so far helps anyone, fab. But it’s an area I’m going to do more with. Thanks for your comment – very welcome.

  2. shannoncity says:

    I use the phrase sometimes, just with ‘stranger’ instead of ‘stronger’….I believe that’s more often the case.

  3. I think so too. Maybe we should think about working together at some point.

  4. Arabelle, I could not agree more. Down to the spinal thing I could have written this myself. People always tell me loneliness is an existential given, something we people have to suffer, something that makes us stronger. I do not agree and there is scientific evidence that it is not true. Prolonged loneliness is a real threat to your health.
    That is why I urge people who feel lonely to act like they would with spinal injury: do not ignore it, but get the right help.

    • Loneliness isn’t a disease or a condition or a state – it’s a feeling, and feelings can be changed. Getting help is vital, but hard to do, since being lonely carries a stigma in our society. Admitting to it, like admitting to addiction, is probably the hardest bit. How do you get people to the point of asking for help, Jeannette?

      • Well, essentially I do the same as you do: I write about the subject, relentlessly I may say, because I think it all begins with awareness.
        — We are in the same boat, it seems.

Leave a Reply

