Joy, according to…

Man is fond of counting his troubles, but he does not count his joys.  If he counted them up as he ought to, he would see that every lot has enough happiness provided for it.”   ~ Fyodor Dostoevsky

One joy scatters a hundred griefs.”   ~ Chinese proverb

Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.”   ~ Robert Braul

Know that joy is rarer, more difficult, and more beautiful than sadness. Once you make this all-important discovery, you must embrace joy as a moral obligation.”  ~ Andre Gide

Joy in looking and comprehending is nature’s most beautiful gift.”  ~ Albert Einstein

He who binds to himself a joy Does the winged life destroy; But he who kisses the joy as it flies Lives in eternity’s sun rise.”  ~ William Blake

Find a place inside where there’s joy, and the joy will burn out the pain.”   ~ Joseph Campbell

During [these] periods of relaxation after concentrated intellectual activity, the intuitive mind seems to take over and can produce the sudden clarifying insights which give so much joy and delight.”  ~ Fritjof Capra, physicist

2 comments on “Joy, according to…

  1. Jan says:

    My mother is lonely – she misses my father, who died over 4 years ago so that’s understandable as they were very happily married for over 60 years, but it’s more than that. She has never been an independent person, she never liked doing anything on her own. She could drive but never did, preferring to have someone with her all the time. Now physically disabled she has to rely on others for pretty much everything. However – she doesn’t reach out, she outwardly curses the fact that she IS needy and says she hates being a burden.

    Me – with my Law of Attraction beliefs – I think that she has attracted the situation whereby she CAN’T be left alone for too much time and people HAVE to do things with and for her. But she’s now not happy with that, feeling useless and a burden. She has always been one to ‘count her blessings’ but I don’t feel she notices the ‘joys’ you mention. Rather I think she uses the counting the blessing thing to try to make herself ok with where she is as there’s always someone worse off.

    Me? I like nothing more than spending time on my own and I’ll schedule a few days away to just be with me. I’ll walk, write, paint and spend time in little coffee shops and even the odd pub watching the world go by. I love it.

    But then would I if that was what my life was all the time? I don’t know. Right now I feel as though I would but you don’t know how you’ll feel till it happens to you do you? I would reach out though. I believe people like to be helpful and I have no problem with owing someone a favour.

    I think I learned a long time ago that the only person you can truly rely on to always be there, that you can trust implicitily and will never let you down, is yourself.

    I think I have to say that I don’t really understand loneliness. Is it to do with self-reliance, self-assurance, self-confidence in an ‘I know I’ll be ok’ way? Is it to do with our cup being half full as opposed to the alternative? Is it about not knowing yourself well enough? Or trusting yourself? If you don’t like your own company does that mean you don’t think much of yourself? Does not being needed by others make some people feel worthless and does that equal loneliness?

    Because it’s not just about company is it? The loneliest place can be a crowded room! But I think that IS about self-confidence. Within a relationship/family? Unappreciated, misunderstood, mistreated even – but again doesn’t that come back to what you think of yourself (okay may have been ‘made’ to feel about yourself but even so… )

    On a purely energetic level, it feels like loneliness comes in with negative vibrations/thoughts/feelings so it follows it should be helped with positivity, like the moments of joy you talk about.

    I don’t think this was what you bargained for but I must have been living in my own little bubble – never even thinking that loneliness was much of an issue so it’s really made me think – which I thank you for. I haven’t been any help I know, but thank you.

    • You have been of help, Jan, thank you. Your mother and mine sound very similar in their response to being alone – perhaps it’s their generation and how they had to survive WW2 and its aftermath. xx

Leave a Reply

