Empty stars

Some lonely people feel invisible and worthless because they aren’t famous or rich or successful, and dream of being discovered and turned into an overnight star, or being whisked away by a rich lover. It’s a dodgy dream, though, since a cursory flick through the media will bring up dozens – hundreds – of cautionary tales.

Like Etta James, Elvis, Jacko and so many others, fame, success, talent and enormous wealth don’t stop the lonely feelings – they often make them worse. The media is full of stories of stars and celebs admitting to crippling loneliness. The more famous and rich and beautiful they are, the more ‘friends’ and fans they get, the fewer genuine friends they can rely on. And how could you tell if someone loved the glittery image and the de luxe lifestyle, or the real person, the one dragging round the house in the morning with bed hair, panda eyes, baggy pyjamas and the same neuroses and fears and flaws as anyone else. The human being behind the tinsel, when the spotlight’s turned off. Are they lovable? Are they worth all the fuss? When will the world spot the fraud?

Celebs wearing sunglasses indoors; celebs covered in bling and shouting the odds, celebs getting into trouble – maybe what’s underneath the nonsense is a lonely person who doesn’t know how else to cope.

2 comments on “Empty stars

  1. “Nowadays, the lonely comes and goes rather than weighing on me like a concrete block tied to my feet in the ocean.’
    That’s good to hear. How did you get to this point? Was it the fact of having true friends to light your road, or do you have other ways of removing the concrete block? I’d love to hear if so. Thanks for posting – it’s great to have your response.

  2. WOW! You hit it right on the head. When I was younger, I always worried about being unpopular and not having mroe than one or two friends. Now that I am an adult, I understand the concept of acquaintances. I have many acquaintances, but only three true friends.
    And those friends are what make me get up every day and try to cope and live with my bipolar. They do their best to understand, support me in a myriad of ways, kick my butt when needed without making me feel like a failure, and listen to me to help me find answers to my problems and understand my own feelings. They are the stars in my life.
    I completely agree that there are a lot of people in this world who are lonely. They may be surrounded by people, but be unable to trust them. They may not know anyone to trust. They may have been isolated by life, abuse, or personality.
    I am often alone. Nowadays, the lonely comes and goes rather than weighing on me like a concrete block tied to my feet in the ocean.

Leave a Reply

